Bugby

29 Sep

My elder son has recently bought his first car. Soon after getting it home, his friend noticed the letters B and U and G in the number plate and so the little car has been named Bugby. It seemed appropriate that I mad a car themed cake for his birthday and so the challenge of the month was a Bugby cake. I first thought about sculpting the car shape from a number of square and rectangular cakes, but then I discovered a car-shaped mold on the internet and decided that it was worth the investment. It’s a great little cake tin and I think I’ll get a lot of use from it.

I made a bog standard beat and mix chocolate cake, my usual recipe which is always so successful. The first attempt however was a disaster. Despite greasing and spraying the tin, the cake refused to come out. It sat in the tin, clinging on to the sides until as a last resort I scraped it out with a spoon and ended up using the chucks as the base of a trifle..

It wasn’t just the car cake that was a disaster. I’d also made a round chocolate cake as we were expecting quite  a few guests, and as it was cooling, one foot of the cooling rack slipped off the kitchen counter and the entire cake slid, n slow motion, onto the floor…..

There was nothing I could do but start all over again and pretend it hadn’t happened. Car cake round 2 worked perfectly.

20130906_214339

Turned out beautifully! I used a little warm apricot jam to “glue” some pieces of foil into place to represent windows.

 
20130906_215624I used blue colouring to tint the butter cream and then piped rosettes onto the cake, covering every section except the tyres and the windows.

20130906_222617

 

Red gel icing for the tail lights and a little card “number plate”.

20130906_222605

A little gel icing for the head lights too…

20130906_222610I added some cocoa to a little plain butter cream for the tyres and for the hubcaps I used “Flying Saucers”. Yum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd here I am with the finished product 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

