New toys!

6 May

I’m a sucker for kitchen gadgets in general and baking gadgets in particular. If money and space were no object I’d have everything in the Lakeland catalogue and every other catalogue besides. Lots of gadgets are pretty useless though and I admit to falling for a number of gizmos that really are, well, pointless. I can live without one of those things to peel a pineapple, but I have one, virtually unused. My life would be pretty fulfilling even if I didn’t have one of those things to turn veggies into a spiral, but I have one. However, as of yesterday I have a lovely new toy which works and produces great little sugar paste flowers for decorating cakes. Oh yes.

Flower cutter

These great little cutters stamp out excellent sugar paste flowers and I’m sure I’ll get lots and lots of use from them. In fact today’s cake was decorated with them. Very easy to do, very pretty and very cost effective. The cutters were just £2.99 each, but shop around as I’ve seen them for lots more.

4 Responses to “New toys!”

  1. Bluejellybeans May 6, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Oh, I love them!!

    • Edyth Miles May 7, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      So much fun and easy to use. I reckon all my cakes from now on will have little flowers on them 🙂

  2. jennypottery May 7, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Kitchen staff here – these are such good fun! They are like teensy weensy ceramic tile presses, with the slight advantage of making something edible. Eating clay is not a Good Thing to do.
    Thanks for letting me play!

Leave a Reply

