Spicy Ginger Cake

22 Jan

Sometimes cake can have medicinal properties. My lovely sister and cake-tester-in-chief has a nasty cold this weekend and was clearly in need of something delicious to make her feel better. I have always believed that ginger has the ability to cure a multitude of ills – I certainly relied on ginger biscuits to get me out iof bed in the morning when I was suffering from morning sickness.

So today’s cake needed to be warming and comforting, tasty with a cup of coffee, and have added health benefits šŸ˜‰
My inspiration came from a Mary Berry recipe, Ginger and Treacle Spiced Traybake, which can be found in this month’s Sainsbury magazine. My version omits the treacle, purely because I’m not so keen on it, replaces it with golden and maple syrup, and cranks up the gingeriness. The result is yummy, and I am confident that the ginger kick will see off any head cold.

Spicy Ginger Cake

INGREDIENTS

225 g softened butter
175 g dark muscovado sugar
100g golden syrup
100 g maple syrup
300 g self raising flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 teaspoon allspice
2 heaped teaspoons ground ginger
4 large eggs
4 tablespoons milk
3 – 4 large balls of stem ginger from a jar, finely chopped.

METHODĀ 

  1. Grease and line a brownie tin r large square tin.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180 C
  3. Place all theĀ ingredientsĀ in a large bowl andĀ combineĀ until smooth.
  4. Pour into the prepared tin, shake to smooth out the top, then bake for 40 minutes until lightly browned Ā and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean and dry.
  5. Cool in the tin on a wire rack while you prepare the icing.
Spicy Ginger Cake icing
ICING

200 g sifted icing sugar
stem ginger syrup from the jar – 6 – 8 tablespoons
3 -4 balls of stem ginger neatly chopped

  1. Blend the icing sugar with the syrup until you have a runny, creamy paste. Add theĀ syrupĀ gradually and stop when it feels right.
  2. Pour it over the cake, smooth it across the top with aĀ paletteĀ knife and let it run down the sides.
  3. Now sprinkle over the chopped ginger and try to leave it long enough while you make the coffee.
  4. Perfect on a cold winter’s day – ideal for runny noses too.

Spicy Ginger cake - slice

6 Responses to “Spicy Ginger Cake”

  1. Juliana January 22, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Edyth, this looks absolutely gorgeous – I’m a great fan of anything gingery! I notice that you haven’t any flour in the list of ingredients… or did you leave it out? ( I somehow feel there should be some flour in the recipe!) I guess it’d work quite well with gluten free flour too, so am looking forward to trying it out.

    • Edyth Miles January 22, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      Oh my goodness, well spotted. It was a mistake! I left out the flour in the ingredients list. Phew. There certainly is flour (and rather a lot too) and I reckon it will be worth trying with gluten-free flour.

  2. Jenny Lewis January 22, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    Well, I have to say that as a medication this is something that could almost be worth having a stinky cold for! I am still sniffing but I swear that the bunged up head and drippy nose (sorry, too much detail perhaps?) are clearer and drier than they were this morning! However, even without the disgusting symptoms going on – this is a brilliant cake! The texture was excellent, and the flavour – oh wow. The ginger came through with a subtle glow, the icing-with-bits added a slight kick. Great combination.
    I’m looking forward to my second helping!
    xxx

    • Edyth Miles January 22, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Thanks tester-in-chief. I can’t take too much credit for it because it is a Mary Berry recipe (mostly) after all, but I am very pleased with the way it turned out šŸ™‚

  3. lesley sardegna January 23, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    i love all M B tray bakes, i will try this but have to use fresh ginger & honey no syrups here, so not sure……
    Richard made me ginger biscuits he brought a few balls of ginger in his hand luggage, they would not let him bring almond paste though!!
    love your blog always.

    • Edyth Miles January 23, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      Hmmm, I wonder if you could order things like stem ginger and syrup online? Might be worth a try. The original recipe used treacle – can you not get treacle in bella Sardegna? I guess honey would work too. You’ll have to have a go and let me know how it turns out.
      Grazie amica bella xx

Leave a Reply

