Brownies for my Boys

6 Nov

Brownies are not difficult to make, but they are universally loved and a little effort in the kitchen will earn you, dare I say it, loads and loads of brownie points 😉

I’ve spent many years laboriously slaving away over a hot oven, tweaking various recipes, to get to the point where I now believe I have the perfect brownie recipe. Shiny on top and squidgy in the middle, with extreme choccieness all the way through, these brownies tick all the boxes. Mmmmm. But don’t take my word for it, try them yourself and you’ll see.

My Boys are massive fans of my brownies as are all their friends, so this weekend it was essential I bake a large batch as the Boys were all off to see and hear a big, brash, noisy rock concert, (Incubus, seeing as you asked)  an experience enhanced only by the addition of ….

Mum’s Chocolate Brownies.

This recipe is easily doubled. Or tripled.

200 g dark chocolate
200 g unsalted butter
3 large eggs
teaspoon vanilla essence
220 g caster sugar
125 g plain flour
50 G dark chocolate chunks
50 g white chocolate chunks

Brownie tin, greased and lined – about 30 x 20 cm.
Preheat the oven to 180 C

1. In a large bowl melt the butter and chocolat etogether. Leave to cool a little.
2.  In another bowl beat the eggs together with the sugar and vanilla until light and frothy.
3.  Stir the egg mixture into the cooled chocolate mixture, then fold in the flour until well incorporated.
4.  Stir in the chocolate chunks. You can use the same weight in nuts or dried cranberries too for a yummy change.
5. Scrape the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 25 minutes.
6. Remove from the oven before the brownies get too dry. Slightly undercooked brownies are so much nicer than those that are overcooked.
7. Leave to cool on a wire rack before cutting into squares. A sprinkle of icing sugar is nice if not essential.
8.  A couple of bowls, a tin and a few spoons are all the washing up you’ll need to do. Result.

Comments ranged from “awesome” to “overwhelming”.
Whether these referred to Incubus or the brownies I can’t say.

10 Responses to “Brownies for my Boys”

  1. Andrew November 7, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    They were amazing!

    • Edyth Miles November 7, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      Thanks, fanbase. And Incubus? Were they as good?

  2. jennypottery November 7, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Speaking as a self-confessed fan, so this is not really an unbiassed opinion, but nevertheless

    They were super-fantastic!!!! omg, delicious yummy and scrummy all at the same time.

    Grazie!

  3. nihad moussa November 7, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Will definately try them or my daughter will as she loves to bake cookies. Thanks Edyth, I didn’t know that your an amazing cake maker! xx

    • Edyth Miles November 8, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Hi Nihad! I love baking, and I’m loving doing this blog. I suppose you could say it’s a hobby 🙂 Please do try the recipe and let me know how they turn out. x

  4. Maggie Langley November 8, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I shall most definately be trying your recipe as yours always taste much nicer than mine!!!

    • Edyth Miles November 8, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Aw thanks Maggie. Please do – this recipe is, as you know, fairly well tried and tested, and always works 🙂 x

  5. Bluejellybeans November 11, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    Hello Edyth!
    This recipe sounds yummy!
    I can’t talk about Incubus, but these brownies are amazing.
    Your recipe and my recipe for brownies are similar, but I’ve never thought on putting some white chocolate chunks in the batter, is a great idea.
    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend 🙂

    • Edyth Miles November 12, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

      Hi there BJB (!) I really appreciate your comments – many thanks. Just off to the kitchen now to get inspired… 🙂

Leave a Reply

