Hello world!

19 Aug

Hi and welcome to my Cakealogue

I love to bake, to experiment and to be creative in the kitchen. I’d love to share my ideas with you, my successes and my flops, and I’d also love to teach you the basics of plain and simple home-baking. Nothing beats the smell or taste of a home-baked cake!

Today, the day I launch Cakealogue, would have been my late mum’s birthday. She taught me how to bake and so it seems an appropriate day. My mum was a really good plain baker. This sounds less of a compliment than I intended but the truth is that plain baking is not always all that easy. A simple sponge, a basic chocolate cake, a batch of scones, these are the things that look simple on paper and are often a nightmare to create. When my mum was diagnosed with diabetes she gave up all sweet things and stopped baking completely. But she handed over the reins – and the measuring cups – to me. During my high school years I spent almost every saturday afternoon baking under her watchful eye. Today, decades later, I still bake with her old 1970s Kenwood Chef and use her measuring cups and her old flour spoon.

I hope you enjoy my ‘brag book’ collection of the cakes I’ve made and served with pride as well as the hints and tips and recipes on offer. Let me know what you think – I’d love to hear from you.

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress August 19, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

